top of page

Tofu Taco Meat


In my efforts to eat less meat, I started looking into meat-less meals on Pinterest and decided I was going to try tofo tacos. I am a HUGE taco fan and love Mexican food, so having a couple meatless alternatives is a must for me in the taco/burrito world. This was my first time making tofu taco meat, and I think it was pretty awesome. This was enough tofu to last me about 5 meals, so the first few times I ate it I made burrito bowls. I plan on using the rest of it to make tacos at the end of the week.

I wanted a recipe that was really quick and easy, so instead of putting seasonings together to make a taco seasoning from scratch, I took the easy route and went to the store and picked out a taco seasoning packet (no judgement)!

Note: Prior to doing anything, I recommend pressing your tofu for at least a few hours before preparing for best results.

You Will Need:

1 Package of Extra Firm Tofu

1 Packet of Taco Seasoning (your preference)

1/2 Cup of Tomato or Marinara Sauce

1 Tbs Minced Garlic

1/4 Cup of Salsa

Red Onion

Salt to taste

Instructions: 1. Start off my breaking up your tofu with a fork. After it's separated into tiny crumbles, pour about a 1/4 cup of your favorite salsa into the tofu. I let this sit overnight to soak in the flavor, but it's fine if you don't feel like waiting. I was also too busy to cook it that night, but whatever LOL

2. In a large pan, add minced garlic with your desired amount of red onion. Let that cook for about 5 minutes.

3. Add in tofu/salsa mixture, taco seasoning packet, tomato/marinara sauce. Mix everything together. I used marinara sauce because I had it leftover in the fridge, but tomato sauce is fine.

4. Taste test and add salt if necessary!

For my tofu burrito bowl, I used brown rice, black beans, Violife cheddar cheese shreds, avocado (not pictured) and a little extra salsa. The next time I make the taco meat I will include the beans in the meat mixture because it was a great combo when mixed together!

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page